The Concept of Time

As a child I never really understood the concept of time. Being young, time seemed infinite. One day I’d be 16, 21, 30, 40 etc but I never saw my self those ages. I knew that everyday people’s time was up, but I could never imagine myself not being. Now that I’m older and have passed some age milestones, the time literally flies by. It feels like ages ago it was the beginning of 2017 but also like no time at all and we are currently half way through the year.

In light of what’s happened in the UK over the past few weeks I was up last night and had the urge to write this post. Humans made up the concept of time and it defines each and every one of us. Each person has their own path to follow with their time unknown until the end.

We pass our indefinite time by existing. I am definitely someone who passes my time being a  massive procrastinator. I go on social media to look at other people’s lives rather then get on with my own. I’m terrible for putting things I don’t want to do off, even though I know I’ll eventually have to do it.

The reality of life is that we all have a certain amount of time to do with as we please. The only catch being we don’t know when it’ll stop. Over the past few weeks I have been trying to cut out the amount of procrastinating I do, because it literally never gets me anywhere, except some random persons Instagram. So whenever I catch myself procrastinating I instantly put down my phone and just get on with whatever I’m putting off doing. I feel a lot better for just getting on with it than being on social media knowing I still have to do this task.

It also brings me onto that I am terrible for treating myself, I never feel I’ve done anything to treat myself. My anxiety sometimes gets the better of me when I’m shopping, so I just need to get out of the shop and stop shopping. Even if there’s something I’d like to purchase I have to leave or I just get more anxious. I know it might not make sense to you, sometimes it doesn’t even make sense to me. But it’s something I try and conquer, not every battle is won.

I spend a lot of time lusting after things like going on a gorgeous holiday, a beautiful house and shiny new makeup. Whilst I might not be able to afford a house right now, holidays I can start planning and as for makeup I am more then able to treat myself to.

No matter what your hobby is or what makes you happy, working/getting money enables those things to become more accessible. For me it’s holidays and makeup. Whilst I am unable to be on holiday 6 months twice a year (yet) I can explore the world around me on the weekends. As for makeup, life is too short not to buy what I want. It’s a lot easier than said, but time for all of us is so short.

So to sum up this post I urge you to spend your time making yourself happy. Whether it’s working hard to buy yourself a treat, progressing in your job, pursuing your passion, buying yourself what you’ve been thinking of getting, spending time with loved ones, or anything else. Just do it.

Time isn’t infinite. I am awful for living for the weekends or saying I’ll eventually get around to doing something I want to do ‘tomorrow’. When who knows what ‘tomorrow’ may bring?  The older I get the more I feel the need to just live. I am worth treating myself, even if I haven’t ‘done’ anything, just living is something to celebrate.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope you have an amazing day and until next time!

x

Follow me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

19 thoughts on “The Concept of Time

  1. Kali Borovic says:

    Such a lovely post. I have the same problems with anxiety, and I find that cutting social media time helps tons! Thank you for the lovely words, and good luck on your journey to less procrastinating! xx.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mignon Cobra says:

    I loved this post. I agree, time goes by and what needs to be done needs to be done today.
    I also get anxious buying things so I decided to just cut the shopping habit, and as for media, I just let myself watch youtube while I run on the treadmill.

    Loved the post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. itsgeorgiaxoxo says:

    I agree with what you’re saying 100%! I had this talk with my self at the beginning of 2017, and swore to not procrastinate because like you said, it literally gets you no where! Loved this post❀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.