March/April Empties 2017

Hello everyone! How has May come around so quickly!? As you all loved my first empties post I decided to do another one! This is all the makeup and skincare empties from March and April! I haven’t used much up the past two months, but I have done a little declutter recently. You can check out things I’ve decided to get rid of here!

Makeupe2

MAC Mineralise Skin Finish in Soft & Gentle 
This was the first high end highlighter I bought and the last purchase I made from MAC. This isn’t pictured as I ended up giving it to a friend. The main reason I bought this highlighter as a girl I worked with always wore it and it looked so pretty. So on my next trip to a MAC I made a beeline for it.  Initially looking at Soft & Gentle I thought it would be too dark for my skin tone, but when swatched I fell in love. However after wearing it  I realised it wasn’t the highlighter for me.  I find it too glittery and that it wears/transfers easily (especially when giving the boyfriend hugs). I also find that for my pale complexion it’s very easy to have too much product giving my cheeks a orangey glittery glow. Which is not a good look!
Repurchase – No.

Seventeen Skin Wow Concealer
I was sent this concealer last year and it’s described as a brightening and highlighting concealer. However it matches my complexion perfectly and doesn’t brighten or highlight my skin. It’s a light coverage and I’ve been using it for work. It’s okay and doesn’t crease much.
Repurchase – No.

L’Oreal Lip Liner in 630 & 302
I liked the colour of both lip liners. 630  was slightly lighter than my natural lip colour and 302 was slightly darker than my natural lip colour. However I found the formula to be drying and wasn’t comfortable to wear with both liners. So to use this up I lined my entire lips with it before going over it with a gloss for work. They also kept braking as they got smaller. Which is slightly annoying as I can’t get the most out of the liners.
Repurchase – No.

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lip Liner in Red Rush
This is a creamy lip liner and I really enjoyed using it. It was a nice red pigment and didn’t bleed, it made a great base for red lipstick/liquid lipstick. I did find that as the liner is creamy it made the liner break easier.
Repurchase – No as I’m using only cruelty free brands, but I would definitely recommend the Colour Elixir Lip Liner if you’re in the market for a new one!

Seventeen Lip Lust 
I got this as part of a set at Christmas. Initially I wasn’t too bothered by it, I’m not really a gloss girl. It doesn’t have a name on it, but when applied to my naturally quite pigmented lips, it has a subtle pink sheen to this clear gloss. For me I find it not to be sticky or horrible on my lips. I had been using it to go over Velvet Teddy by MAC for work.  And as you can see by going over a nude lipstick there are traces of it in the tube, but I don’t really mind as the gloss didn’t have much of a colour anyway on my lips.
Repurchase – I already have a set of their glosses.

Skincare 

The Body Shop Seaweed Oil Control Overnight Gel
I got this on the recommendation from a shop assistant at my local The Body Shop as my skin type is combination. However I found this night gel to be too drying on my skin, especially over winter. So I used a facial oil along with it to keep my skin moisturised. I only realised after using most of the gel that The Body Shop have a returns policy on their products – if you use a product and don’t like it (but haven’t used much) it can be returned!
Repurchase – No.

MAC Prep + Prime Fix +
I bought this as all the beauty gurus I watched on YouTube used this and I wanted to see what the hype was about. But every time I used it I never noticed it making a difference in my makeup lasting any longer. I mainly used Fix + to enhance my eyeshadows. As my bottle started to get lower the nozzle started to spit the product out rather than nicely spritzing my face/brush.
Repurchase – No.

Botanics All Bright Cleansing Foam Wash
I bought this in February when I was looking for a new face wash  to try. What drew me to it was that it is that is in partnership with Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew UK, s well as using all natural resources. I also liked that the packaging was made from recycled plastic. This brightening facial wash is infused with hibacus which is a natural brightener, and after using it for almost two months it has brightened up my skin. However it hasn’t done anything that I’ve noticed for my breakouts, but it doesn’t claim to do anything for them anyway. Overall it makes my skin feel fresh and clean and I’ve enjoyed using it.
RepurchaseYes in the future, but would only use it when my skin wasn’t breaking out.

The Body Shop Aloe Calming Toner
Initially I bought this on the shop assistants recommendation. My skin at the time was becoming red with texture, which I think was a reaction to a different product I had used. However after using this for a few months my skin has gotten a lot better, but it’s still red and textured in certain areas. I’m not really sure what I’m using to cause this reaction, but I haven’t seen or noticed this toner helping to calm my skin down.
Repurchase – No.

And those are all the things I have used up in March and April. Not many things, but I have about 4 things I am so close to using up right now! And as for having a completely cruelty free makeup collection I only have 2 things to go, which as of right now are so close to being used up!

Thank you so much for reading! I have some exciting posts coming up this month, which I can’t wait to share with you all! I am also thinking of writing a really personal post, which I have been thinking about doing for a while. But I don’t know if I’d have the courage to publish. We’ll see.

Until next time lovelies!

x

Follow me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

17 thoughts on “March/April Empties 2017

  1. jazminheavenblog says:

    Great post! I almost bought the Aloe toner from TBS, but decided to go with Lush Breath of Fresh Air instead. I’m kinda glad I did as I think the Lush one has really helped with the redness on my face xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. highstreetbeauty11 says:

    Great post! I have the Botanics All Bright face scrub and it’s great. I will have to try this facial wash x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stashy says:

    Looks like almost all of these items you didn’t care for – too bad!
    I’ve heard such good things about MAC Soft & Gentle – too bad it didn’t work for you!
    I don’t think MAC Fix + really prolong makeup – for me, it’s more to remove the powdery / made-up look.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. evangelskies says:

    Mac fix+ isn’t intended to work as a setting spray to prolong makeup, but a lot of YouTubers claim it to be! That’s not it’s function- my friend has it and it removes the powdery look and makes it look more natural. It’s not a makeup setting spray.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.