January/February Empties 2017

Hello everyone, I hope you are all well! Today’s post is something a little different. I have recently been enjoying reading empties posts and so I decided to try it for myself! So I stashed all the skincare and makeup products I used from the beginning of January until the end of February. I never realised how many products I would use up!

Makeup

 

Seventeen Falsifeye HD Mascara
This is one of my favourite mascaras I’ve tried so far! If you want to read a review click here, then I won’t ramble on!
Repurchase – Already have!

Seventeen Stay Time Concealer
It’s described as full coverage on the packaging, for me it’s more a light to medium coverage under my eyes.  It works under my eyes better with a colour corrector underneath. I mainly used this for an everyday look and for work.
Repurchase – All ready have, but the new one seems to be slightly more orange than this one and doesn’t match my skin tone.

L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim
For a while this was my favourite eyeliner because it is so slim at the end making it perfect for getting a sharp wing. However I found it dries out quite quickly, making it skip on the skin.
Repurchase – No

Makeup Revolution Ultra Eyeshadows in Beyond Flawless
So many bloggers had raved about the Makeup Revolution palettes. However whilst there were some beautiful shades in the palette I found the pigmentation to be lacking. I found I really had to pack a lot of eyeshadow on to get any colour payoff and for what shadow did apply, it faded during the day. Even using MAC Fix+ the payoff didn’t improve much.
Repurchase – No.

Ciate London Fierce Flicks Eyeliner
I got this from a BirchBox and initially I liked it. After a few uses I found the pen to be too thick. It was really easy to go from doing a perfect wing to suddenly covering half the eyelid with black liner. After giving it multiple chances with the same result of half my eyelid covered in black, it’s not for me.
Repurchase – No.

No 7 Stay Perfect Liquid Liner
I got this from a beauty set at Christmas and usually I don’t use eyeliners that aren’t like pens. However I was surprised how easy this was to use. The reason I’m getting rid of it is because it dries completely matte, which having never used a totally matte eyeliner I realised I’m not a fan of.
Repurchase – No.

MAC Boldly Bare Lipliner
This was one of my first MAC purchases and my least favourite. I bought this on recommendation from one of the MUA’s there when I bought Velvet Teddy. For me I find the formula very drying. Even if I scrub and moisturise my lips before applying it, Boldly Bare still sticks to every line in my lips. I’m not a fan, and to me it’s not worth the £13 price tag.
Repurchase – No.

Skincare

 

Urban Decay b6 Vitamin Infused Complexion Spray
I’ve put this in skincare as it reduces redness, minimises pores and absorbs oil with a certain amount of use. However the lazy girl in me forgot to use this regularly so I never saw the benefits on my skin even when I did use this.
Repurchase – No

Good Things Pore-fectly Clear Charcoal Face Mask
I bought this when I was on the hunt for more cruelty free brands for my skincare routine. I found that when I used this mask it made my skin react badly to it. Each time I used this mask it would leave my skin bright red where the mask had been after I washed it off. Even hours after I’d used it and it broke my skin out quite badly.
Repurchase – No.

Sanctuary Spa 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask
I really enjoy this mask, whilst it heats up my skin it doesn’t leave it red after. My skin is always smooth after use. I do find that if I have any blemishes when I use this mask it really brings them to the surface. But I don’t really mind that as they would have come up anyway.
Repurchase – In the future for sure, but right now I want to try other types of masks.

The Body Shop Seaweed Deep Cleansing Gel Wash
I bought this as part of a whole new skincare routine from The Body Shop. I was recommended this by the shop assistant. Whilst I have combination skin, this face wash just dried my skin out after using it.
Repurchase – No.

Boots Ingredients Rooibos Sheet Facial Mask
I really enjoyed using this mask! I found the blue hydration didn’t do anything for my skin, but this one made my skin feel so nice afterwards! Plus it didn’t break me out!
Repurchase – Yes

The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover
I bought this when looking for a cruelty free makeup remover, and also a travel size makeup remover. Initially my skin liked it, however my eyes don’t. Even though it claims to be a gentle eye makeup remover, when I used it around my eyes it made them feel like they were burning. And it didn’t  really get all of my mascara off, even though I don’t wear water proof mascara.
Repurchase – I already have another from their Advent Calendar, but after that no.

Lush Santa’s Lip Scrub
I’ll be honest, these are the only lip scrubs I’ve ever used so I don’t have anything to compare them to. But I really love Lush lip scrubs. Santa’s Lip Scrub is my second favourite out of the ones they release, my favourite lip scrub being The Kiss (which is realised around Valentines Day). The scrubs do everything I want it to to keep my lips looking their best!
Repurchase – No, I prefer The Kiss. But if I ran out of it around Christmas then I probably would buy it.

I really enjoyed saving up what I used over the past two months and putting it all together. I never really think I use that many products up! If you made it this far thank you so much for reading! Let me know in the comments if you enjoy these types of posts! What have you been using up recently? Until next time!

x

Follow me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

12 thoughts on “January/February Empties 2017

  1. stashy says:

    Too bad about the Makeup Revolution Ultra Eyeshadows in Beyond Flawless. No point trying ot make something work – too much effort and there are plenty of options out there.
    I had that Lush Santa’s Lip Scrub on my Christmas wish list but they were all sold out. I like the Mint Julip one from Lush.
    Well done with the empties! I posted mine today too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rach says:

    Shame to hear your loreal liner dried up, maybe it was just the one you had? Mine usually last quite a bit, great post though! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. zaramcintosh says:

    I’ve somehow never read an empties post before but I really liked this! I understand your struggle with finding the perfect eyeliner, I currently use a liquid eyeliner which I’ve found to be the easiest! x

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.