Why I’m Going Cruelty Free

Hello everyone and happy Wednesday! The weekend has almost crept upon us. I have decided to write this post about my decision to only use Cruelty Free products as it has become something I feel strongly about. It has been a few months since I had really come across being cruelty free and since then I have been intrigued and finding more information about the things I put inside my body as well as the products I use on my body.

heart22What made me really think about it was a video by Carli Bybel a few months ago, which you can watch it below.

This video really inspired me to investigate more into cruelty free products and even though I am currently not a total vegetarian, I have cut down on the amount of meat I eat.

So whilst digging through the information around cruelty free products, I discovered most of the brands I loved aren’t cruelty free. Whilst since 2013 there’s an EU ban on cosmetics  that have been tested on animals. However certain brands are guilty of testing their products on animals ‘at some stage of the development’. The brands also say the practice is till taking place abroad because it’s an issue of cost, as animal testing can be cheaper and easier than many humane methods.

This has made me decide to only use cruelty free brands. Whilst it might not be for everyone, I think it’s worth while and something I’ll continue to support.

Some of my current favourite brands are:

  • The Body Shop
  • Sleek
  • Lush
  • NYX
  • Seventeen
  • Burt’s Bees
  • Soap & Glory
  • Urban Decay

It is actually a lot easier than I thought to find cruelty free products in my local drugstores. All I do to check, as not all companies display the cruelty free logos on their packaging, is just search the company on the internet i.e. is *brand* cruelty free. And I am pleasantly surprised at how many companies I can find in Boots that are cruelty free. It doesn’t have to be super expensive!

I only have a few things that aren’t cruelty free left and I’m looking forward to finishing them up! 

Do you have any favourite cruelty free products/brands? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time!

x

Follow me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Going Cruelty Free

  1. lucyloves07 says:

    Congrats on becoming cruelty free! Careful on Burt’s Bees. They recently announced they are going to China so they will no longer be totally cruelty free. I’m trying to get more info on that at this time.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.