Lipstick As Eye Liner Tutorial!

Hi everyone! I have been wanting to do something different with my make up and push out of my comfort zone more! So when I had some NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams fall into my over-flowing make up bag, curtsey of my gorgeous boyfriend, an idea flowed in for a make up look.

The star of this look, the product that gave me the inspiration was NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Copenhagen’ . Described as a ‘matte rich plum’ and it’s gorgeous.

On social media coloured eye liner is everywhere and everything.  I loved coloured eye liner, but I struggle to find a colour that would suit my hazel eyes or even a colour that wasn’t too bright. I’m not quite at the stage where I’d actually go out with bright eye liner. I want an eye liner not too bright and not so dark it looks black. And so that’s where Copenhagen comes in. As it’s a matte lipstick it would dry to be matte, so what better none eye product to use as an eye liner!?

To start off the plum liner look I first primed my eyes and set it with a skin coloured shadow. I then took a small shader brush and my Smashbox Full Exposure palette and used a mixture of M5 and M6 (a light and mid tone brown) to define my crease and add more depth to my eye. And that’s all I did for shadow as I wanted the main focus to be on the liner. I then used Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush to apply NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen.

I love this silicone liner brush, it was so easy to apply the liquid lip cream! It was just like using a pen eye liner, which is my favourite way to apply liner! The only downside to using the lip cream was after about 5 minutes of not being in the bottle, the formula started to dry on the lip applicator as well as drying slightly clumpy on my lids. But it was nothing that can’t be fixed! When this happened I just re-dipped the lip applicator to get fresh product!

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I then completed the rest of my makeup. I used my SEVENTEEN Stay Time concealer in Fair to conceal under my eyes and any blemishes. To fill in my brows I used Soap & Glory Archery 2-in-1 Brow Filling Pencil and Brush in Hot Chocolate with Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara in Transparent to set them. To contour I used L’oreal Glam Bronze in Blond Sun and for highlight I used MAC Soft and Gentle Mineralise Skin Finish.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I apologise for the weird lighting, I did this when I got in from work and it had started to get dark when I had finished.

I used Copenhagen by NYX on my lips to finish this look off and I was good to go! I love how this turned out! I would definitely recreate this look for a night out / date night. Copenhagen goes so well with my skin tone and eye colour! Who needs loads of different coloured eye liners when all you need are matte lipsticks!!

Thank you for reading this post, until next time!

x

Follow me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

5 thoughts on “Lipstick As Eye Liner Tutorial!

Comments are closed.